Not Your Grandma’s Sweater…

I haven’t had much time to pay attention to this year’s NY Fashion Week – even though I live in it’s epicenter.  But I have stumbled upon some rather exciting new developments from some of my favorite designers to follow – as well as designers that are new to me.

London-based SIBLING, consisting of designers Sid Bryan, Joe Bates and Cozette McCreery have put together an amazing colorful collection, SISTER, circled around the concept of Matriarchy.  I’d say nothing says “Matriarch” better than a punchy cardigan….wouldn’t you?

Read more at Dazed Digital

70 Days and Counting…

Today my little one is ten weeks along.  I was woken up this morning by one of my pregnancy apps reminding me of the event and listing off all of the amazing progress.  Wiggles has fingernails, a tongue, peach fuzz, and all of it’s vital organs (though not yet fully developed).  It’s the size of a kumquat (approximately 1 1/4 inch long) and weighs something like 0.14 ounces.  Over the next two weeks it will double in size and hopefully give me a break with the nausea as we approach trimester 2.

At 10 Weeks (courtesy of Sprout)

I’ve grown less and less fond of sweet tastes.  When once I was gobbling apples and chocolate almond milk every day, now I can’t stand the taste of it.  Popcorn is a lifesaver and Yogi “Mother-to-Be” tea is my new favorite drink along with Perrier water and grapefruit juice (yum!).  My husband has routed which local stores have which craving must-haves.  Who has the sorbet I like, who has the kale chips, and who has the good juice.  My heart swells with love as he stands up after I mention something that would be “awesome right now” throws on a jacket and grabs his skateboard.  “It’s my job” he reminds me as I apologize for the inconvenience.  He pats my stomach and smiles and I know that he understands.  What a relief to have such a supportive partner!

Although we’re still pretty early along, the days and weeks have begun to pass a bit faster.  It seems like just yesterday my husband and I sat in awe of the two lines glaring back at us and now we’re watching a little tummy-pooch grow (so small only we would notice…I think).  Now when we talk about our future we talk about our baby.  We’ve secured a team of mid-wives, started saving our money and started thinking very seriously about what we want our family to look like.  It’s a growing experience that makes me grateful this little bun takes 9 months to bake.

I won’t be turning this into a pregnancy blog – but it’s a pretty unavoidable topic when you have a person growing inside of you.  I love the feedback I’ve gotten from other mommy-to-be bloggers – please keep it coming!  ❤

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.