Shame on Microsoft Outlook…

A guy came into our office today looking EXACTLY like Obama.  I mean….EXACTLY.  It was such a likeness that I almost soiled myself.

Instead of defecating in my Hanes Her Ways, I called the assistant who sat nearest to where he was headed.  “There’s a guy headed towards you who looks JUST LIKE Obama…look look look!!”

“Oh my God…you are right.  Wow.”

This of course was followed up with another person on our team sending an email agreeing with both of us.  I responded and Spell Check caught the word “Obama”.  It’s suggestion…?  “Osama”

Spell check doesn't seem to know who Obama is...but it sure knows who Osama is.

7 Awesome Things About Today

I woke up this morning in one of those horrible random panics.  The ones that always happen to me when my alarm clock goes haywire and “forgets” to wake me (so I wake myself up with a gasp and piss off male company…although I didn’t have any last night MOM if your reading this).  Only this morning I was supposed to be covering for my desk-partner and get to work 2 hours early….I was late by 30 minutes to the shagrin of my boss (who responded to my warning email with a cryptic “ok…” – as if accidents like that can never happen in the world).  I looked at the sign above my desk…

Nam-Myoho-Renge-Kyo

I shook it off.  Then I got dressed so fast it would put Tasmanian Devil to shame and grabbed my fall coat instead of my winter coat out of pure sleep-crazed confusion.  So I froze my ass all the way to work in 17 degree weather.

That was the one shitty thing about today…but here are things that rock:

#1 It’s Friday….nuff said.

#2 Ski Trip Tomorrow With the Buds!!

#3 My new boss sent out my official welcome email to me and my new team…marking a nice fat (much-needed) promotion and raise.

#4 I have my first meeting with my admissions counselor for the school I’m applying for Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts.

#5 I found an awesome denim brand (that probably everyone else in the world knows about but who cares…I found it, so it’s mine) called Pray for Mother Nature and their jeans/pants are completely awesome and hello?… their brand name is genius.

#6 I am not completely broke and have put aside a little bit of dollas’ to get my best friend an awesomeiferous birthday gift.  I love picking out gifts for people…when I can (which now I’ll be able to do a little more often).

#7 After an arctic chill of a week in New York the weather says tomorrow is going to be in the low to mid 40’s!  That’s really whats awesome about tomorrow, but what it made my day anyway.

I hope everyone has an awesome weekend!

Happy Birthday Wiki!

My awesome best friend Wiki (I named her after Wikipedia because she has a world of random knowledge that she constantly spews as FYIs)  will be turning 26 tomorrow.  To celebrate her birthday we are going to be heading up to Tuxedo Mountain to go skiing and tubing with a bunch of awesome friends.  I’m also going to list (’cause I love lists) all the things I love about her…

#1 The obvious above mentioned wealth of random facts.

#2 She is a designer for an accessories company, and therefore very often hands over, a plethora of super awesome bags, scarfs, hats, gloves and other loveliness to her friends.  She literally has kept me in knit scarfs this winter, I collected over half a dozen scarves including a pashmina she designed that has decorative script detailing our road trip from Texas to New York.

#3 Her best “accessory” is her 5 year old son, who loves comic books, asks incredibly deep questions, is cute as a button and occasionally runs to the door stark naked.  Everyone knows awesome kids can only come from awesome people.

#4 She loves wine as much as I do.  Nothing worse than a friend who’s “on the wagon”.

#5 Like me, and most of my other friends and family she is a poster child for anti-establishmentarianism and thinks out side of the box.  Always.

#6 She’s the best kind of asshole.  Meaning she always tells the naked truth, which not everyone can handle and frankly occasionally makes me want to smack her.  But at the end of the day I’d rather have a real-friend who will give it to me straight than a sham-friend who garnishes the truth for the sake of kindness.

#7 Just when I start to feel like a loser for not being able to juggle my life quite as seamlessly as she does…she looses her wallet.  It happens a few times a year, and I secretly feel better about myself each time.  Thanks for being so forgetful Wiks.

I realize this list makes her sound like a drunk communist asshole who loses her wallet, reared a crazy child and steals sh*t from her job.  But we’re talking about someone who is MY best friend…so what did you expect?

Blog at WordPress.com.